Update from the garden

Thanks to everyone who joined us on Sunday for our gorgeous blueberry cake (yes, fresh picked berries), garden walks and hay wagon ride. I realised a little too late that I scheduled the date over a long weekend and many were unable to attend due to plans SO next year, I will aim to have it earlier in the month. There will still be cake 🙂

IMG_20160731_135718.jpg
I couldn’t be happier with the rain today. It would definitely happen today because I’ve been on a strict watering schedule since the morning and I even washed the car. I have been wanting to start planting some fast growing crops for the fall but have been hesitating because it is so incredibly dry that getting them to germinate might be impossible. This rain is encouraging and so next week I will begin planting things like arugula, radishes, and possibly some more salad turnips.

We have been short on tomatoes this season due to an error in over-suckering the plants (that was my fault) and so this week my farmer friend Paul Amyotte has provided our CSA with gorgeous tomatoes. Paul and his family run a fantastic greenhouse/market garden near Fort Coulonge and I purchase all my spring veggie groceries from him. He employs some great practises including introducing beneficial insects in the greenhouses so that they may grow pesticide-free. We’re fortunate to have other growers in the area with great products to supplement in seasons where the weather is challenging.

IMG_20160803_140337.jpg
Our elderberries will be ripening soon. I would like to put these in the CSA but they are most definitely a special item and so I will ask everyone personally over the next 2 weeks if you would like to see elderberries in your CSA share when they are ready. You can let me know at pick up time or e-mail me if you miss me. The most common and easy way to use elderberries is to prepare a syrup or cordial with them to use in hot drinks and to help ward of colds come fall season.

IMG_20160803_141901.jpg

This week’s share of the harvest

1 Pint Beans
2 Tomatoes
Bag Lettuce
Box Summer Squash (Zucchinis or Pattypans)
1 bunch Onions
1 Eureka Duncan Garlic
1 Pepper
Large size: Pick up a “kit” which includes, 1 eggplant, extra beans, 1 cucumber + garlic

IMG_20160803_104212.jpg

Garlic cleaned and graded this week.

How to use this week’s share

Mathias made me a dinner of yellow beans and some BBQ veggies last night, which were fabulous and you can do the same with all kinds of goodies from the CSA including squash, onions and pepper this week.

Basically, cut your veggies into chunks – small for the ones that take longer to cook, i.e. potatoes and larger chunks for the ones that cook quickly like the squash.

Toss all the veggies in a bowl and coat them with one of these suggested seasoning options:
Seasoning 1 – garlic, olive oil, thyme, oregano, basil, balsamic vinegar, dijon mustard, salt, pepper.
Seasoning 2 – garlic powder, onion, powder, olive oil, balsamic vinegar, salt, pepper
Seasoning 3 – olive oil, chili powder, thyme, salt, pepper

You can definitely come up with your own combo too!
On the BBQ, they go well on skewers. BBQ on medium heat for about 10 minutes or until they are tender.
In the oven, spread the seasoned veggies out on a baking sheet and bake them at 425F for 20 minutes. Stir occasionally.

 

 

 

