:: Quick update from the farm ::

I have to say I’ve been pretty impressed with this fall. For one, we have not yet experience a frost, which means that many of the warm weather crops (like tomatoes, and squashes) are still producing. Normally when there are frosts early in the fall, I need to gather up any willing body around me and head out to the garden with giant row covers (like garden blankets) to cover all kinds of crops and then collect and lug around all kinds of sandbags to hold the covers down. It is a general rule that when we’re expecting a frost, there will be a wind storm while trying to apply row covers. Then in the morning they all need to be removed again. SO I am very happy that I can still harvest crops at a leisurely pace without having to blanket and unblanket everything each night.
IMG_20150922_151646

The other great thing about this fall is that nearly all of the winter squashes are ripe and already off the field. This is something that is usually a stress for me because these winter squashes (like butternut, kuri, spaghetti, etc…) cannot have frost touch them or they get cold damage and rot. I’ve been diligent about bringing the squashes in this season, taking advantage of the early ripeness. This also frees me from needing to blanket the plants and squashes when the frost does arrive.
IMG_20150922_151718:: This week’s share of the harvest ::
1 Red Kuri squash (eat the skin!)
1 Delicata squash (eat the skin!)
1 bag Fall Mix (lettuce, arugula, various Asian and mustard greens)
1 pint Carrots
WEEKLY ONLY: 1 Savoy Cabbage
BI-WEEKLY ONLY: 1 large Bok Choy
CHOICE: 1 box Roma Tomatoes OR 1 box Cherry Tomatoes OR 1 bunch Hakurei Turnips

IMG_20150922_151626:: What to try with this week’s share ::

This past week I finally picked up a cookbook that I have had my eye on for some time: My New Roots. The author is a Canadian living in Copenhagen and she has a fantastic healthy food blog called My New Roots. She uses all kinds of creative combinations and ingredients that I don’t usually cook with. Mathias and I prepared her Carrot & Corn salad this week and while it at first seemed a little too plain…. one bite and it’s one of the best salads I’ve ever made!

This gorgeous cookbook!

This gorgeous cookbook!

Sundown Carrot and Grilled Corn Salad (Sarah Britton)

2 large ears fresh corn, husks and silks removed
knob of coconut oil, melted
grated zest and juice of 1 lime
1/2 fresh chile minced (optional)
1 tsp. maple syrup or honey
1/2 tsp. sea salt
1/2 tsp. ground cumin
1 Tbsp. olive oil
3 medium carrots, sliced into thin rounds (we used the mandolin for this)
4 medium spring onions, sliced into thin rounds
1 small bunch fresh cilantro, chopped

1. Heat your outdoor grill or cast-iron fry pan until hot.
2. Brush the corn with the melted coconut oil and grill until the corn is tender and slightly charred, 7-10 mins. Let cool slightly. Slice the kernels off the cobs and put them into a large bowl.
3. In a small bowl, whisk together the lime zest and juice, minced chile, maple syrup, sea salt, cumin and olive oil.
4. Add the carrots, spring onions, and cilantro to the bowl containing the corn. Pour the dressing over, toss to combine and let the flavours soak in for at least 10 minutes.

