Still thirsty as ever.

Happy drought everyone! Today I have a sore throat from weeding… I actually had to turn my head away from the dusty earth to breath.

This week I have purchased some extra hose and so I have upgraded my “irrigation system” from me carrying cans, to me walking around with a hose. Already the plants are looking better!

I thought this week I would post photos to accompany a few points of interest on this organic farm…

The Wildlife Ditch

Lively habitat for ducks, birds, frogs, toads, butterflies, etc.

We have a neat ditch that runs across the middle of our farm and is home to wildlife including ducks, birds, toads, frogs and butterflies. It is especially busy in the spring as this ditch runs along the bottom of the fields, collecting runoff and creating a long strip of wetland for ducks and in particular a couple of mallards who come and nest here every spring.

The Original Silo House

Spooky echo of the past.

Our old silo house – perhaps the last of its kind in the area. This silo house is beautifully built with beams and I hope to use this space in the future to dry garlic etc. We were thinking of putting in some different levels and stairs on the inside. Any ideas out there, throw them my way!

Beautiful beams. This photo is showing the mid-section looking up.

Gardens, Grass and Flowers

A laying hen about to embark on an adventure in one of our many patches of bee balm, just outside the barn’s milkhouse.

Although subtle, it is extremely important that we keep our farm bee friendly – we refrain from using any kind of chemical on our grasses and weeds and we leave areas with wild flowers and clover to grow… the bees love it! I haven’t gotten around to it yet, but I have purchased packages of bee garden wildflower seed which I intend to plant around the farm next spring – patches of wild flowers for our pollinators! Many areas of the farm are purposely keep un-mowed to allow for habitat for our welcome wildlife, our roaming laying hens and our precious bees.

Clover growing around the cool room – a place that I would normally mow, but just before I did, the bees asked me to keep it there for them. No problemo!

Big Chicken Barn and its Ammenities

This week we moved the baby chicks over to the big barn. You’ll notice many waterers and feeders – more than what is recommended for just 150 chickens. In the large barn it is important for the little ones as they should never be far from a feeder or waterer… but it is also good when the chickens get larger as it helps reduce competition and aggression in our chickens and therefore helps keep everyone hydrated, fed, relaxed and injury-free. Notice loads of windows for air movement and natural light.

Big bright chicken barn for our happy chickens.

Back to work, lots more weeding and watering to do! Have a great week and keep praying for that rain.

